Thank You!

Thank you to all speakers and attendees for making SA Symposium 2016 great!  See you in 2017.

On May 6-7 2016 in San Francisco a global faculty of technology experts and visionaries will come together to advance emission-free flight at the Sustainable Aviation Symposium

The 2016 Sustainable Aviation Symposium will convene the leading experts and visionaries from across the globe to present the latest breakthroughs in technologies relevant to the electric aviation movement. Topics this year will span everything from Solar and High Altitude Flight to Sky Taxis and Cargo Drones, from Batteries and Ultra capacitors to Fuel Cells.

Registration is available now!

SA Symposium 2016 presenters include

  • NASA Chief Scientist Dennis Bushnell on Green, Renewable Energy
  • Tomas Brødreskift of Equator Aircraft from Norway on The P2 Xcursion Hybrid Amphibious LSA
  • Eric Raymond of Solar-Flight from Italy on Solar 6-Seat Transporter, Sunstar and Sunseeker Duo
  • Dr. Josef Kallo of DLR from Germany on Emission-free Flight with Hydrogen
  • Dr. Parimal Kopardekar of NASA on Safely Enabling Low-Altitude UAS Operations
  • Joshua Portlock of ScientificAerospace on Commercializing UAS/UAVs
  • Dr. Dan Raymer on Sparky Flapjack - Inspirations From the Vought 173
  • David Calley on Electric Motor Breakthroughs
  • Dr. Justin Jaworski of Lehigh University on Silent Owl Wings and Their Implications for Noise Reduction Technologies
  • Philip Barnes of Pelican Aero Group on Regenerative Flight
  • And many others


Dr. Parimal Kopardekar

Principal Investigator - NASA

Dr. Frank Anton

EVP, Head of eAircraft - Siemens AG

Tomas Brødreskift

Industrial Designer - Equator Aircraft Norway SA

Eric Raymond

Founder and President - Solar Flight

Bill Parks

Chief Engineer, Aerovironment

Dr. Ben Santer

Research Scientist, Lawrence Livermore National Lab

W Ray Morgan

Morgan Aircraft Consulting

Dennis Bushnell

NASA Chief Scientist

Dr. Josef Kallo

Professor, DLR Germany

Alejandro Pensado

2015 NASA Award Winner

Michael Starr

2015 NASA Award Winner

Joshua Portlock

CEO - ScientificAerospace

Dr. Aarohi Vijh

Staff Engineer - Alta Devices

Dr. Eric Darcy

Battery Group Lead, NASA Johnson Space Center Battery

Chip Erwin

Aircraft Designer, Aeromarine-LSA

Boris Popov †

Founder - BRS Aviation

Dr. Kevin D. Jones

Research Associate Professor - Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey

Dr. Dan Raymer

Conceptual Research Corp

Cris Hawkins

Aircraft Designer

David Calley

Motor Designer, Planet Rider

Dr. Yi Cui

Professor, Stanford University

Dr. Justin Jaworski

Professor, Lehigh University

Dean Sigler


J. Philip Barnes

Technical Fellow, Pelican Aero Group

Dr. Tyler MacCready

CEO, OceanLab

Dr. Brien Seeley

President, SA Foundation

† denotes a PADA Trophy Winner

Images from SA Symposium 2016 Presenters

San Francisco, CA

Sofitel San Francisco Bay
223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065
+1 (650) 598-9000

Recent News

SA Symposium 2016 – Thank you for an amazing event!

SA Symposium 2016 is a wrap! Thank you to our esteemed group of presenters and wonderful attendees for making this an historic year at SA Symposium.  Feedback from attendees has been excellent and our presenters reported significant interest in their topics post-event.  Below you will find some media from the event and links to press coverage. We look forward to...
Read More

Register now for SA Symposium 2016!

Countdown to SA Symposium 2016

SA Symposium 2016 Program

Day 1
06 May 2016
Day 2
07 May 2016

Registration and Breakfast

Dr. Brien Seeley



Lunch (included with registration)




Theme Dinners & Presentations

Dennis Bushnell
Dr. Brien Seeley
David Calley